About US

PROMOTING RESPONSIBLE CITIZENSHIP

SHAWCO was established in 1943 at the University of Cape Town (UCT), and works to develop informed, healthy and thriving communities. Our mission is to practise and promote responsible citizenship in South Africa by enrolling student volunteers in health, education and social entrepreneurship initiatives in under-served communities across the Cape Flats, from Kensington to Khayelitsha. We create a supportive space for experiential learning and teaching, and address inequality through innovative and sustainable approaches to community engagement.

Our Vision

Working together towards informed, healthy and thriving communities.

Our Mission

To practise and promote responsible citizenship in the South African context through health, education and social entrepreneurship initiatives.

How it all began

SHAWCO was started in July 1943 by Andrew Kinnear, a UCT medical student who spent his vacation driving an ambulance to earn money to pay for his medical training.

He was appalled by the poverty, lack of hygiene and lack of medical facilities in areas like Kensington and became determined to do something about it. Andrew Kinnear asked Dr Golda Selzer of the Pathology Department at Groote Schuur Hospital to assist him in establishing a clinic.

What started off as a one-man initiative quickly grew into one of the country’s largest student volunteer organisations offering health and welfare projects throughout South Africa’s Apartheid era.

In 1994, with the inauguration of our first democratically elected President, SHAWCO moved from welfare to a development model – still running primary healthcare clinics but moving to skills development and education programmes through the “welfare” arm. In 2003, this move was further consolidated by the narrowing of the developmental sector to Youth Education.

Dr Selzer became the co-founder of SHAWCO and remained SHAWCO’s honorary life president until her death in 1999.

In 2001, Mrs. Graça Machel agreed to become SHAWCO’s new life president.

THE TEAM

UNIT

NAME & SURNAME

TITLE

EMAIL ADDRESS

Head Office

Thara Kallungal

Operations Manager

thara.kallungal@uct.ac.za

Head Office

Gary Paulse

Finance Manager

gary.paulse@uct.ac.za

Head Office

Daneen Abels

HR Manager

daneen.abels@uct.ac.za

Head Office

Thembisa Nkwaba

Administrative Assistant

thembisa.nkwaba@uct.ac.za

Head Office

Amanda Mqoqi

Finance Administrator

amanda.mqoqi@uct.ac.za

Head Office

Candice Daniels

Fundraising Manager

candice.daniels@uct.ac.za

SHAWCO International

Lungisa Mzizana

International Programme Coordinator

lungisa.mzizana@uct.ac.za

SHAWCO International

Delicia Govender

International Placement Coordinator

delicia.govender@uct.ac.za

SHAWCO Accommodation

Belinda Martin

House Keeper

belinda.martin@uct.ac.za

Academic Intervention

Warren Africa

AIU Administrator (SHINE)

warren.africa@uct.ac.za

Academic Intervention

Selmarie Kenneth

AIU Administrator (SAT.)

selmarie.kenneth@uct.ac.za

Academic Intervention

Ashleen Roberts

AIU Administrator (LAX)

ashleen.roberts@uct.ac.za

Transport

Cheryl Patel

Transport Coordinator

cheryl.patel@uct.ac.za

Transport

Cecil Constant

Driver

cecil.constant@uct.ac.za

Transport

Joachim Sadan

Driver

joachim.sadan@uct.ac.za

Transport

Sipho Mpepho

Driver

sipho.mpepho@uct.ac.za

Transport

Mark Vollenhoven

Part Time Driver

 

Transport

Leonard Sauls

Part Time Driver

 

Transport

Ismael Constance

General Worker

 

Transport

Amos Qangiso (Jack)

Driver

amos.qangiso@uct.ac.za

Transport

Enrico Daniels

Driver

enrico.daniels@uct.ac.za

Education

Ainsley Grootboom

Education Coordinator

ainsley.grootboom@uct.ac.za

Khayelitsha

Zanele Fihla

Centre Manager

zanele.fihla@uct.ac.za

Khayelitsha

Nomakwezi Manikivana

K1 Administrator

nomakwezi.manikivana@uct.ac.za

Khayelitsha

Nandipha Lupondo

K2 Administrator

nandipha.lupondo@uct.ac.za

Manenberg

Cyril Pelston

Centre Manager

cyril.pelston@uct.ac.za

Manenberg

René van der Venter

Year Beyond Project Coordinator

rene.vanderventer@uct.ac.za

Manenberg

Chermón Africa

Year Beyond Project Coordinator

chermon.africa@uct.ac.za

Manenberg

Martenique Mentoor

IT Facilitator

martenique.mentoor@uct.ac.za

Manenberg

Felicia Esau

Administrator

felicia.esau@uct.ac.za

Kensington

Caron Thomas

Administrator

caron.thomas@uct.ac.za

Kensington

Luchien De Louw

General Assistant

luchien.delouw@uct.ac.za

Kensington

Anthea Koopman

House Keeper

anthea.koopman@uct.ac.za

Toy Library

Esther Julius

Toy Library Coordinator

esther.julius@uct.ac.za

SHIFT IT

Isaac Hendricks

SHIFT IT Coordinator

marlon.hendricks@uct.ac.za

SHIFT IT

Marco Charles

SHIFT IT – Kensington

marco.charles@uct.ac.za

CURRENT STUDENT COMMITTEE EDUCATION

SHAWCO Education

Eva Da Costa

President of Education

president.shawcoedu@shawco.org

SHAWCO Education

Declan Dyer

Vice President of Education

vicepresident.shawcoedu@shawco.org

CURRENT STUDENT COMMITTEE HEALTH

SHAWCO Health

Danielle Hugo

President of Health

HGXDAN@myuct.ac.za

SHAWCO Health

Peace Francis

Vice President of Health

shawco.health.exec@gmail.com

FUNDERS